Should I call SIRI?

This forum is dedicated to all our English-speaking members.
Please feel free to ask your questions here!
Besvar
Ravani

Should I call SIRI?

Indlæg af Ravani » 08.02.2020 13:32:50

Hi everybody,

I got my residency under EU law three years ago.
I was married for more than 3 years (3 years and 4 months to be exact) and got divorced last June. no kids involved.
I lived in Denmark as a married man for 2,5 years and I have a stable job and income since I graduated from uni in 2018.
I have read that if someone fulfils these three conditions, they have the right to keep living in Denmark and having the same rights as before.
However, I didn't live in the same address as my ex-wife for the last 1,5 years of our marriage because we were in the process of separation and we were figuring out how to do things. So I don't know if that could damage my rights, but I was told that it doesn't really matter where one lives, whether together or not.

However sometime ago I talked to someone and I got to know that I have to call SIRI and let them now that I have been divorced.
When my divorce was official, I got a letter in my eboks saying Familieretshuset will inform the immigration service and therefore I thought things will happen automatically and they will eventually get to know about my situation but apparently not.
I have been divorced for 7-8 months now, and I am worried that it is too late to call them, if I had to call them right away and let them know about my situation? Because I was told that now that I am divorced, I have to apply for an independent residency, and they have to look into my case and see if I fulfil these criteria.

I would like to know what I should do now, should I call them and let them know?
Do I have to and if I don't it will harm my situation?
What is my status now, am I illegal in Denmark?
How does my address and living situation (as I explained above) play a role, if it does?

Thanks in advance

mh1