Moving from Denmark to Sweden

This forum is dedicated to all our English-speaking members.
Please feel free to ask your questions here!
Besvar
Doubt

Moving from Denmark to Sweden

Indlæg af Doubt » 10.09.2013 11:14:14

Hello everyone,

It has come to my attention that this site is the place to go, if you’re held back by the Danish immigration laws. Hopefully someone here will be able to help us.

Our current situation is as follows:

I’ve had the pleasure of meeting the most gorgeous Filipina, and we do not qualify to live in Denmark, as I’m currently a student and receive ’kontanthjælp’

She is presently living in Norway, where she works as an au pair.

Our plan is:

We are moving to Sweden, so that we’ll be able to stay together.

I have applied for a lot of apartments in Landskrona and Malmø, as I’m starting university in Copenhagen in august of next year.

I’m moving there, and she then applies for residence with me.

We’ve looked over the rules, but there is still some confusion, and that’s why I’m making this post. Hopefully someone will be able to answer a few questions for us, as we only have until January, until her Visa expires, so time is running short.

A few questions:

How long does it usually take for Migrationsverkets to process an application regarding moving to someone already living in Sweden?

Will she be able to come live with me while the application is being processed, or do we have to be apart the entire time?

Is it possible to apply before I’m living there, or do we have to slave through the whole bureaucracy, which after reading up on it, seems like a very time inefficient way to accomplish a rather simple task.

I’d love if I could somehow convince them to be a little flexible and maybe move there together, if possible.

How long does it usually take before you qualify for socialbidrag, as it might be needed in the beginning, until we get everything settled?